Our joyful return to the stage

Summertime at the Ballet


Please note, Summertime at the Ballet is a stand-alone production and not part of Season Packages. It will go on sale early in 2021.


We’re back under the spotlight, and treating you to a landmark celebration of ballet as we enter the next chapter of our artistic history.

The beauty and versatility of our dancers will shine in a selection of excerpts from ballet’s most celebrated classics, our latest contemporary works and our signature repertoire. We’re honouring our history, embracing our future and revelling in the pure joy of dance.

This grand celebration is our gift to the ballet lovers who supported us in every possible way during our time offstage.

We dance for you.

David's insight …

“In my first program as Artistic Director, I am showcasing the talent of the entire company. With fresh inspiration, the dancers step back on the stage in repertoire that exemplifies their versatility as both technicians and artists. These modern and classical ballets are their lifeblood and exactly why they live for the stage and the expression of performance.”

Summertime will reflect on the heritage of this company, from the major classics through to new commissions, showcasing a rich history of repertoire and artistic talent

David Hallberg, Artistic Director

Artists of The Australian Ballet. Photography Jeff Busby and Kate Longley


The program will include:

The Kingdom of the Shades from La Bayadère
Choreography Marius Petipa
Music Ludwig Minkus
arranged by John Lanchbery

Trio from Filigree and Shadow
Choreography Tim Harbour
Music 48nord

Pas de deux from Molto Vivace
Choreography Stephen Baynes
Music George Frederic Handel
Largo from Xerxes

Tschaikovsky Pas de Deux
Choreography George Balanchine
©The George Balanchine Trust
Music Piotr Illyich Tchaikovsky
Excerpt from Swan Lake, Op. 20, Act III

Act III Pas de deux from Don Quixote
Choreography Rudolf Nureyev
Music Ludwig Minkus
arranged by John Lanchbery

Waltz from The Merry Widow
Choreography Ronald Hynd
Music Franz Lehár
arranged by John Lanchbery

Excerpts from Act I of Spartacus
Choreography Lucas Jervies
Music Arum Khachaturian

Pas de deux and finale from Theme and Variations
Choreography George Balanchine
©The George Balanchine Trust
Music Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Excerpt from Orchestral Suite No.3 in G, Op.55


Don't miss a moment of our 2021 Season! Sync to your laptop or mobile phone’s calendar and be the first to hear about our on-sale dates to secure the best seats at the best price.


  • Major Partner